Hello There, Guest! Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Closing down omniverse-rpg.com

Hey,

It's come to my attention that post-server transfer, we're dealing with a number of unfixable database issues. I have no idea what's causing these or how to fix them, as I'm not a coder. After I handed over control previously, a great deal of updating and modification was done to the site and due to the nature of our site relying on modifications (such as the points mod, and rested xp), I can't really undo this stuff easily or untangle it without a massive amount of work.

I already had to do work to make previously-incompatible mods such as NewPoints work on the MyBB version we were running, so making updates to the base system software carelessly is kinda like upsetting a careful ecosystem or pulling a brick out of a jenga tower. Things can have knock-on effects and since I'm not a coder, I never changed anything without backups. Now, I have backups from before these changes - I have backups running back years - but that would lose all the posts that have been made since. Every choice is a gigantic headache, especially for a site I no longer use. I have kept the site running because it felt like the right thing to do for the community, and because wonderful people were willing to keep busting their ass to keep it alive. But ultimately it's not feasible for me, and it's not feasible for you, anymore.

As I don't really use the site anymore myself, the option of paying out money for modders to make updates and the like (which is entirely feasible) is not really something I'm wanting to do. And honestly, dealing with database things, site drama, and things of that nature is not something I want to do anymore. I put my years into the site. When I made the site I hoped to carry the story for about 6 years. It’s been an amazing journey through the formative years of my life. But I’ve moved on.